À Propos
Roger Frappier
He studied cinema at the London School of Technical Film under the aegis of the great English directorLindsay Anderson following the production process of the IF film. He developed a passion for fiction very early on, working with Robert Altman on the American film NASHVILLE.
Since his beginnings as a producer at the NFB in the 1970s, Frappier has worked with most renowned directorsin Quebec and abroad, in addition to discovering the talent of many young filmmakers. He worked with Denys Arcand,Jean-Claude Lauzon, Gilles Carle, Jacques Leduc, Eliseo Subiela, Denis Villeneuve, André Forcier, Dai Sijie, Manon Briand,Jean-Philippe Duval, Gabriel Pelletier, Denis Chouinard, Sébastien Rose, Jean-François Pouliot, Michel Boujenah, Robin Aubert,Stéphane Lapointe, Lyne Charlebois, Guy Édoin, Santiago Amigorena, Mathieu Roy, Don McKellar, Kim Nguyen. FrancoisGirard and Jane Campion.
Roger Frappier is part of the elite of Canadian producers, having produced more than 50 films over the past forty years. He is also the only Canadian producer to have won three« bobines d’or » awarded for the best box office receipts for a film released in thecountry and four génies for « best Canadian film. » Two of his films have beennominated for Oscars in the Best Foreign Language Film category in addition tonumerous major awards at international festivals. He is the only Quebec producer tohave won the Golden Globe for best film.
His productions Le Déclin de l’Empire Américain, Un Zoo la Nuit, Jésus de Montréal, Ding & Dong le Film, La Vie Après l’Amour, La Grande Séduction are still among the best box offices in Quebec. His latest production The Power of the Dog written and directed by Jane Campion received 12 Oscar 2022nominations after winning the Golden Globe, BAFTA, Critics Choice Award for BestPicture of the Year.
On a personal note, in 1996, Roger Frappier was made Chevalier de l’Ordre des Artset des Lettres of France by the Minister of Cultural Affairs Jack Lang. In 1998, theCannes Film Festival honored him in the Tribute to Producers series, where heappeared alongside ten other producers from around the world. In 1999, he received theAlbert-Tessier prize, which rewards his body of work. In 2010, he was made an Officerof the National Order of Quebec by Prime Minister Jean Charest. In 2016, he won theTIFF producer of the year award from the Canadian Media Producers Association(CMPA) and, in 2017, he was named Compagnon des Arts et des Lettres du Québec.